This screen allows an administrator to mange remote network (IP address) and protocol restrictions for a user.
Important: These restrictions are applied after a connection is made to the server -AND- after a login prompt is received. Therefore, the protocols allowed at the site level (Settings - Service Activation) and the allowed countries (Settings - Country Access) limits are always applied before these user-level restrictions.
Clicking the Add Rule button will open a new line item on the list for editing, with the following fields:
- Rule Name - Every rule should be given a unique name that means something to you.
- User - will display the user who you are configuring.
- Allowed IP Address Range - Defaults to 0.0.0.0 - 255.255.255.255 (the whole world) on save if skipped. Otherwise, type in the user's remote IP address that you wish to require them to login from in the first part of the range. Once an IP address is entered in the first part of the range, it is assumed to be the same in the second part of the range -- since a single IP address is the most common scenario. If your user gave you a larger range of IP addresses, you can enter the starting and ending IP addresses before saving. There is no limit to the size of the range that can be used.
- Allowed Protocol - Defaults to Any Protocol or allows you to restrict a user to a specific protocol.
Note: You can create multiple rules for the same user, whether you need a separate IP range or a separate protocol for the same person.
To edit an existing rule, check the box to the left of it, then click the Edit Rule button.
Rules can be removed by selecting a check box next to the rule(s) you wish to delete, then clicking the
Remove Rule button. Careful, there is no confirmation before a rule is removed.
Note: Rules that apply to All Users, as opposed to the current user, will appear but can not be removed here. You can only add or remove "All User" rules from the main Users - Restrictions screen.